The Eastside Deli Gives a Shit

I like it when people have passion for their craft.  Doesn’t matter what their craft is, but I like it when they give a shit about it.

East Side Deli, Portland, OR

The guys at Eastside Deli on SE Hawthorn in Portland, OR give a shit about sandwiches.  Here’s why:

  1. We had an intelligent conversation about spreads.
  2. They were able to make recommendations on what meats should be combined.
  3. Eastside deli proudly puts Boar’s Head deli meats on all of their subs.
  4. They offer the option to toast your sandwich.  And not with one of those phony toasters (like a certain chain of subshops we all know).  They use a REAL toaster.  And I wouldn’t feel weird about asking them to double-toast my sandwich.
  5. They listened when I told them that they need to add Turkey Pastrami to their menu.
  6. They have big-ass sandwiches – BUT (and this is the key) they are smart enough to wrap each half individually.  Only a true sandwich aficionado would know to do this.  And obviously, they use butcher paper – not that foo foo tissue paper bullshit.

As for the sandwich – it was good.  They only offer two turkey flavors (mesquite and low salt) so I was a little limited on my meat selection.  I’d also like to see some addtional cheese offerings.  But I love the selection of spreads and toppings as well as the love they put into their craft.

Interestingly, I enjoyed the second half of my sandwich the next morning and I liked it better.  Maybe that gave the horseradish and sun dried tomato spreads a little extra time to marinate the sandwich.

My advice to East Side Deli: expand the menu just a little.  But keep doing what you’re doing.  As long as you don’t fucking start cutting corners, you’ll be fine.  I’ll be back in a few weeks to check on you.

One thought on “The Eastside Deli Gives a Shit

Leave a comment